CHANGES - Twilight - 7" - 2 tracks - HauRuck! - 2005

Released a couple of months ago on HauRuck!, 'Twilight' is the latest work to date from the cult American folk duo Changes. Though this 7" does not include any 'new' songs, since they all feature on the highly acclaimed album 'Orphan in the Storm', there is an undeniable interest in listening to the orchestrated versions of some of Changes classics.
Those who listened to the version of 'Icarus' contributed to the excellent Tyr compilation will know what to expect here...

Recorded in Studio Absenta with the master of the place, Robert Ferbrache himself, on electric guitar and keyboards, the full instrumentation offers a new dimension to these songs. Electric guitar and 70's keyboard on 'Twilight' suit perfectly the basic elements of Changes music (Robert's vocals and Nicholas's 12 string acoustic guitar and vocals), with backing vocals provided by Michael Moynihan. All these elements obviously add a bit more muscle to the Spenglerian lyrics.
'Icarus' and 'Waiting for the Fall' on the b-side rock out as well with additional drums and electrified accompaniment.

The other interesting and appealing part of this release is, of course, (and as expected from Changes) the artwork that was conceived, as usual, by Nicholas. The juxtaposition of 'Ruins' (a pen and ink illustration by Robert Taylor) over a gradient sunset with the addition of the recognisable lettering give a sixties/early seventies touch to the cover. The same illustration is reproduced as a background on the recto of the insert (with the 'Twilight' lyrics)… likewise, 'Liberty' (a skull wearing the crown of the Statue of Liberty) illustrates the verso with the lyrics of 'Icarus' and 'Waiting for the Fall'.
An artwork rooted in the 70's and texts that never sounded so contemporary… this is probably one of the many charms of this record.

A successful marriage of classic folk and rock... and a must-have for all Changes fans.

Nathalie F.
Summer 2005